Deadline: May 31, 2016

Mark Walvoord accepting the 2011 NCLCA/LSCHE Website Excellence Award from NCLCA Professional Development Officer Jenny Pippen
Mark Walvoord, Director of the University of Oklahoma Student Learning Center, receiving the 2011 first place award from Jenny Pippen, NCLCA Professional Development Officer.

This award is co-sponsored by LSCHE (Learning Support Centers in Higher Education web portal) and NCLCA.  Sites will be judged by a panel that may include a student, a faculty member, current or former learning center administrators, a prior first-place award winner, and a non-learning center web master.

Rules and Criteria

***The award rubric has been updated for 2015. Please carefully review the criteria before completing the nomination form. Rules, criteria, and nomination form are all available on LSCHE at

All college and university comprehensive Learning Center web sites are eligible for the awards. Stand alone centers such as Writing, Tutorial, Math, or TRIO learning centers are not eligible for the awards. You can see the winning center web sites for past years on LSCHE at

Winners must accept the award at the NCLCA annual conference in person or virtually via phone, Skype, FaceTime, or similar technology.

Note: Some criteria involve CAS Standards and Guidelines for Learning Assistance Programs or W3C guidelines for accessibility.

Submitting Your Website

Learning center administrators may submit their site for the award competition by completing the nomination form available on LSCHE and emailing it to Alan Craig.

Presentation of the awards will take place at the annual NCLCA conference.

Announcements, updates, and results of the web site contest will be posted to the LRNASST-l listserv and will be archived on the Learning Center in Higher Education web portal: Winners will receive an award plaque, a certificate, and the right to place a specially designed award icon on their learning center home page. In addition, a letter will be sent to the award winner's president or other designated senior administrator. Announcement of the award winning sites will also be sent to the learning center for dissemination to campus and local newspapers.

Past First-Place Award Winners
(The full list of award winners is on LSCHE.)

2014 Learning Assistance Center, University of Cincinnati, Lauren Clark, Program Director
2013 Academic Success Center, Clemson University, Elaine Richardson, Director
2012 Panther Academic Support Services, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Johanna Dvorak, Director
2011 Student Learning Center, University of Oklahoma, Mark Walvoord, Director (Note: Original winning website has been replaced by UC Action and Student Success)
2010 Student Academic Resource Center, University of Central Florida, Jennifer Wright, Director, and Annie Prince, Website Administrator
2009 The Academic Link, Stevenson University, Christine Flax, Director
2008 Center for Academic Success, Clayton State University, Mark Daddona, Director
2007 No awards given
2006 Center for Academic Planning and Support, New Hampshire Technical Community College at Stratham & Portsmouth, (Now Great Bay CC) Sarah Bedingfield, Director
2005 (tie) Learning Center, Pima Community College, West Campus, Penny Turrentine, Director (Note: The various Pima CC campus websites merged after this award.)
2005 (tie) Instructional Support Services (Now replaced by the college-wide Learning & Tutoring Center website), Georgia Perimeter College, Dunwoody Campus, Alan Craig, Coordinator
2004 Mary Helen Callarman Center for Academic Excellence, University of Central Florida
2002-2003 (tie) Learning Center, Pima College, West Campus
2002-2003 (tie) Center for Academic Planning and Support, New Hampshire Technical Community College
2001 Academic Support Center, LeMoyne College
2000 Tutoring and Learning Resources, University of Pennsylvania


| Search | Webmaster | ©2015 NCLCA

image for Find Us on Facebook   Follow @NCLCA_USA