Deadline: TBD

Past Award Winners

photo of Frank Christ, learning center guru, wearing a jacket over a turtleneck shirt


Frank Christ was the founder of the Winter Institutes for Learning Assistance Professionals and was actively involved with learning assistance for over 40 years. He was the founder and past coordinator (1972-1990) of the award-winning Learning Assistance Support System at CSU Long Beach. Frank was also a founder and past president of the Western College Reading Association, now known as the College Reading and Learning Association. Frank was a prolific author of books, monographs, and scholarly articles.  Many of his major articles can be found on the Learning Support Center for Higher Education web site at 


The purpose of the NCLCA Frank Christ Outstanding Learning Center Award is to give national recognition to the work done by learning centers and to foster their future growth and development.

Each year, NCLCA may recognize two learning assistance centers for excellence: one two-year college (Technical, Community, etc.) and one four-year college or university. Awards will be announced and presented each year at the annual conference.


Each award winner will receive an engraved plaque. Winning institutions will be recognized at the Annual National Conference. A representative from the winning program must be present at the conference where the award will be given. Only members of NCLCA can make nominations. Selected programs must notify NCLCA in writing of award acceptance.

Note: Part of the review criteria for this year will be based on the "best practices" established by Frank Christ which can be found on LSCHE at


· Complete a cover sheet with name, address, e-mail, fax number and title of center

· Complete nomination/application letter that summarizes the center strengths and achievements (2 pages maximum)

· Submit letter of endorsement from the institution's President, Vice- President, or Dean

· Submit a detailed description of the center following this numbering sequence (10-12 pages max):

   1. General

   2. Clientele

   3. Programs and Services

   4. Technology

   5. Partnering

   6. Program Evaluation

   7. Publicity and Public Relations

   8. Staff Training

   9. Certification and Recognition

Note: Winners must accept the award at the NCLCA annual conference in person or virtually via phone, Skype, FaceTime, or similar technology.


~~Online Application for Oustanding LC Award~~

If you have any questions, please contact
Samuel Meyer, NCLCA Professional Development Officer


2014- Henry and Edith Cerullo Learning Assistance Center, Bergen Community College, Khairia Fazal, Managing Director
2014- Panther Academic Support Services, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Johanna Dvorak, Director
2013- Center for Teaching and Learning, Florida Atlantic University, Jennifer Bebergal, Director of Student Retention
2013- Office of Academic Services and Testing: Student Academic Success Center, Dutchess Community College, Jennifer Wrage, Director, and Lori Scolaro and Sally Weglinski, Assistant Directors
2012- Center for Academic Program Support, University of New Mexico, Michelle Steiner, Director
2012- Learning Center, Lake Sumter State College, Marion Kane, Director
2011- The Academic Support Center, The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina, LTC Jane M. Warner, Director
2010- Learning Center, Ball State University, Jennifer Haley-Core Studies/SI, Jacqueline Harris-Study Strategies/Writing, and Gary Ritz-Math
2009- Bernard B. Rinella Jr. Learning Center, Miami University of Ohio, Linda Dixon, Director
2008- Student Learning Center, Texas A&M University, Karon Mathews, Director
2007- UT Learning Center, University of Texas at Austin, Alan Constant, Director
2007- The Academic Support Center, Daytona Beach Community College (now part of Daytona State College), Robin Courtney, Director
2006- Academic Success Center, Clemson University, M. Elaine Richardson, Director
2005- Center for Academic Support and Advancement, Indiana University Purdue University Ft. Wayne, Rachelle Darabi, Director
2005- Center for Academic Planning and Support, New Hampshire Community Technical College (now Great Bay Community College), Sarah Beddingfield, Director
2004- Center for Academic Success, Louisiana State University, Saundra McGuire, Director, and Melissa Brocato, Assistant Director
2003- The Student Academic Consulting Center, Baruch College, CUNY, Carol Morgan, Director
2003- Belleville Campus Success Center, Southwestern Illinois College, Award accepted by Laurie Bingel and Lynne Cross

| Search | Webmaster | ©2015 NCLCA

image for Find Us on Facebook   Follow @NCLCA_USA