NCLCA Innovative Use of Technology Award

Deadline: May 31, 2016

Past Award Winners

Application Procedures


At the 2010 NCLCA Conference, Julie Redmond, Assistant VP for Academic Support at Columbia College Chicago, suggested to the NCLCA Board an idea for a new award to recognize innovative use of technology for learning centers. The Board very much liked the idea and decided to postpone a call for nominations in 2011 in order to honor two long-time technology innovators for their extremely useful web sites that each had developed as a labor of love of learning. Lucy MacDonald ( and Joe Landsberger (Study Guides and Strategies) were the inaugural winners of the NCLCA Innovative Use of Technology Award. Open nominations for this award will be accepted beginning in 2012.


The purpose of the NCLCA Innovative Use of Technology Award is 1) to recognize individuals, learning centers, or institutions that use innovative technology solutions focused on the learning center to improve student learning, assist learners who may learn differently, improve resource usage, increase student engagement, or enhance learning stratgegies and 2) to encourage proliferation of innovative uses of technology to other learning centers so that students everywhere may benefit.


Technology is, of course, rapidly developing, so the following list of newer technologies cannot be considered an inclusive list. Furthermore, the use of older technologies, applied in innovative ways, may also lead to an award.


The application of technology is related to learning assistance and significantly impacts student learning or learning center operations. The technology solution makes a noteworthy contribution that surpasses previous or current solutions. The technology solution demonstrates a measurable benefit and has the potential to serve as an inspiration or model for further innovation for other learning centers.


2014- Jon Mladic, Rasmussen College, Tutor Excellence Training Program

2014- Mark Walvoord, University of Oklahoma, Use of iPads for Tutoring, Study Skills Enhancement, and People Management

2013- No award given

2012- Lisa D'Adamo-Weinstein, SUNY Empire College, For the comprehensive program: Academic Support on Demand

2012- Wendy Gilmore, Ryan Murphy, A. Valentini, and M. Fumagalli, Rochester Institute of Technology, For the IOS app: SI at RIT

2012- Frank Christ and Rick Sheets, For the web portal: LSCHE: Learning Support Centers in Higher Education

2011- Lucy MacDonald, For the web site: Logo for the website

2011- Joe Landsberger, For the web site: Study Guides and Strategies

| Search | Webmaster | ©2015 NCLCA

image for Find Us on Facebook   Follow @NCLCA_USA